top of page

One Step At A Time


Stepping stones near Helston

Stepping stones near Helston

We recently moved from Manchester to Cornwall, big move, big change in life. Many things led upto this move but in the end we chose to just jump and move, with no jobs, not even a house, until 4 weeks before moving date. Why did we choose to go with nothing in place?

I was watching a tv program the other day and in it they said

“You don’t have to make big steps, just little ones in the right direction”

Boom!! It was what I needed to hear for my life right now but also helped me to understand how we chose to move here. The years leading up to the move were full of little thoughts, ideas and actions. Firstly we simply felt we would like to move to the coast, (God spoke to us over 10 years ago about moving to the coast} then every bill board, tv advert, delivery truck had Cornwall on it, so we thought yes Cornwall, don’t know what its like but that’s where we are going.

Then our daughter applies to universities and chooses to go for an interview in Falmouth, we had to look at a map to see where it was, Cornwall (interesting) drove down and instantly knew this is where we should be.

She got in, which meant we spent many times visiting her and we just knew it was right to go, but when and how.

Now before our daughter applied I really felt God tell me "you and your family will move." A year after she moved our son applied to universities and yes you guessed it he eventually chose Falmouth, (totally by himself). Shortly after, we decided lets just move when he moves, we did and now "Me and my family have moved”

Without all the little steps, of which there were many more, Im not sure we would have made the big one, it was just too big, too impossible, even too unclear no real reason or plan.

Fast forward to today, We now have some BIG ideas again, A spiritual, artist, community and retreat centre. With loads of ideas of what we want it to be like. I have been thinking, but how is this going to happen? Where, when, who with, what with, How how how.

Not in a negative way more of a wow this is exciting, great but Big.

Then I watched that program and boom. Anthony “You don’t have to make big steps, just little ones in the right direction”

I started this website as a small step a while ago, just to get rolling forward creatively, today I’m taking another small step of posting something new and another small step is to develop a website for our community venture (almost done)(EDIT feb 2019 website is live and I will continue to develop it as we move forward, www.outoftheblue.family ) Im going to keep doing small steps and watch as they come together to make a big step. At the moment this is the best way for me to think and do.

People who know me know I can just jump into things with no apparent fear, but when it comes to a big vision that needs planning I need to do it and see it step by step alongside other people otherwise I freeze and don’t even see the little steps that lead in the right direction. I feel unqualified for the big thing but the little steps, I can do those.

So I encourage you if you feel you have some huge things you want to do or change, perhaps you “don’t have to make big steps, just little ones in the right direction”

Until next time.

bottom of page