top of page

Walking in the rain

My first ever post, maybe I should pick my favourite photos to try and impress, talk about photographic techniques to sound like I know what I'm doing.

Or I could tell you about last week when I wanted to go for a walk and take some photos, but it was raining and very dull. Probably not the best weather for either activity, however this is really what I'm all about, its not always about the pristine best images or the most picturesque venue, it was wet and I ended up on my local suburban canal.

Walking in the rain

Ship Shape

Up North

I went out to enjoy myself which I did. I got soaked, camera got soaked but came back with a few snaps and a great memory of a dog sliding in the mud, desperately trying to stop going into the canal, rear legs in front legs out, camera in pocket? (my camera, the dog wasn't carrying one)

So the photos won't be going on a wall, but its good practice trying to "see" an image, looking for something that looks ok in low contrast, drab and wet weather. One good thing was the dull light brought out some colours in a kind of broody moody way.

Art?

Going out in all weathers made me think about camera settings a bit more, increasing exposure to lift the shadows, watching the shutter speed didn't drop to low, getting a good stance as it was muddy and slippy.

Football Fans.

Bin there.

So I encourage you to get out and enjoy taking photos, enjoy the walk "see" things, capture the things you like and have a go at new subjects. Don't worry if the weather or your photos aren't perfect. It s good to learn but better to simply enjoy.

Cheers till next time.

Tony

bottom of page